January 15, 2017
PRESS RELEASE: Time for 2017 Nominees!!

Pioneers and StarWalkers wanted: BC Entertainment Hall of Fame calls for 2017 nominees

Vancouver, BC – As Hollywood gets ready to kick off another star-studded awards season, BC’s own Entertainment Hall of Fame (BCEHOF) is gearing up to honour individuals who have made a significant contribution to the province’s entertainment industry. The 2017 call for nominations to the BCEHOF runs through March 15, 2017.

Nominations to the BCEHOF are submitted by a group of individuals on behalf of a nominee from the performing arts, film & television and radio broadcast arenas to one of two categories, StarWalk or Pioneers. This year, the BCEHOF board continues with a more rigorous nomination procedure to streamline and align the awards process with other Hall of Fame organizations across North America.

In addition, only five (to a maximum of seven) inductees will be named in each of the two categories. All applications will be reviewed against key criteria by BCEHOF’s nominating committee, which is composed of previous BCEHOF inductees as well as people actively involved in BC’s entertainment industry. The 2017 inductees will be announced in early spring.

“The BCEHOF is opportunity to celebrate those individuals who have, and continue to shape BC’s entertainment landscape and reflects the truly unique contributions these cultural trailblazers have made” said BCEHOF President of the Board Rob Haynes.

Founded in 1992, the BCEHOF honours past or present BC residents who have had an outstanding impact on the province’s entertainment arena, whether performing live or working tirelessly behind the scenes. To date, more than 300 performers, producers, agents, broadcasters, managers and patrons have been recognized on Granville Street’s StarWalk in downtown Vancouver or in the historic Orpheum Theatre’s lobby.

StarWalk inductees include individuals who, through demonstrated excellence in their craft, have enhanced the province’s cultural profile, both locally and on the world stage. Pioneers are those who historically have left an indelible mark on BC’s entertainment landscape.

Past BCEHOF inductees include singer/songwriter Sarah McLachlan, jazz artists Diana Krall and Michael Buble, actress Joy Coghill, maestro Bramwell Tovey, bandleader Dal Richards, impresario Hugh Pickett, choreographer Anna Wyman, producer David YH Lui, broadcaster Jurgen Gothe, and managers Sam Feldman and Bruce Allen.

“The BCEHOF is a testament to our province’s thriving entertainment scene and a window into its history,” said Christopher Gaze, founder of Bard on the Beach and BCEHOF inductee. “It’s an honour to be included in this illustrious group of men and women, and I am delighted to help ensure that our future inductees receive the recognition they deserve.”

BCEHOF nomination forms as well as more information about the organization and nomination process are available at Nomination forms must be received no later than March 15, 2017.

Please direct any questions to

Back to List
Back to Top